Start, Just Start!

Posted: March 21, 2012 in Writing Workshop
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

After writing my post the other day- “Finish What You Start!” -my daughter made the statement, “I have a hard time starting a story.” her complaint wasn’t that she didn’t have good story ideas or characters, but that she couldn’t come up with that perfect opening line. The question became “How do you start writing a new story?”

My answer is, you type. I know, I know, one of the most important parts of any story is the opening line or the first paragraph. It needs to catch the readers attention and draw them into the story, making them feel a connection with the characters and build a desire to know where it’s going. But waiting around for the perfect line to pop into your head is like waiting on the Lotto check to magically appear in your mail box. Most of the time it’s not going to happen.

When I wrote Rock Bottom, I came up with my opening line and the story formed from it– Life! That’s what it is, just life. When I started the prequel, Rookie Case, I didn’t have a great opening, but I started writing. As I’ve worked on the project, I’ve slowly refined the beginning and now have it almost where I want it. The important thing is I wrote. Getting something down to work with is crucial. Just like a potter can’t form anything until he has a lump of clay, a writer can’t edit, fix or adjust his work if he hasn’t written anything.

Comments
  1. so true! i really have to remind myself of that sometimes…it’s like the niki logo, “Just Do It!”

  2. Writing Jobs says:

    Great post thanks. I really enjoyed it very much.

    Love writing? We would love for you to join us!

    Writing Jobs Available

Leave a Reply

